Latest News

Winners prep for oaths of office

Now that the elections are over, the winners get a little breathing room before being sworn in. Here's when they take office (this includes those elected Tuesday and those automatically elected in the summer when no one filed to run against them).

  • Monday, Marathon City Council, Marathon Government Center: Dick Ramsay, Ginger Snead and Pete Worthington:
  • Monday: Key Largo Fire and Emergency Medical Services District board: Bill Andersen, Mark Wheaton and Marilyn Beyer.
  • Nov. 18, School District, administrative building, Key West: Superintendent Randy Acevedo and School Board members Andy Griffiths and Duncan Mathewson.
  • Nov. 18, Key Largo Wastewater Treatment District board: Charles Brooks and Robert Majeska.
  • Nov. 19, Monroe County Commission, Key Largo library: Heather Carruthers, Sylvia Murphy and Kim Wigington.
  • Jan. 6, constitutional officers: Sheriff-elect Bob Peryman; Elections Supervisor Harry Sawyer; Property Appraiser Ervin Higgs; Tax Collector Danise Henriquez; and County Clerk Danny Kolhage.
  • Jan. 6: State Attorney-elect Dennis Ward, Public Defender Rosemary Enright and whoever wins the Group 4 Circuit Court judgeship, Tegan Slaton or Mary Vanden Brook.
  • Jan. 6, Mosquito Control District board: Joan Lord-Papy, Bill Shaw and Steve Smith.
  •   Comments