Latest News

Tyree, Collins among new faces on judicial commission

Governor Rick Scott has announced the appointment of four new members to the Sixteenth Circuit Judicial Nominating Commission. And the governor reappointed Key West attorney Donald E. Yates, who has previously served.

The new faces on the board: John "Richard" Collins, Lynn Hankins-Fielder, Timothy N. Thomes and Lawrence W. Tyree.

Tyree is president of Florida Keys Community College. He replaces commission member Thomas Wright, a Marathon attorney, and will serve a term ending in July, 2015.

Collins, longtime Monroe County School Board attorney from 1982 to 2002, was appointed from a list of nominees submitted by the Florida Bar. His term runs until 2015. He replaces former Key West city attorney Robert Tischenkel.

Hankins-Fielder of Summerland Key was president of the Monroe County Bar Association in 1994. She has been active in the Key West Chamber of Commerce and also served on the Monroe County Estate Planning Council.

She replaces Corey Bryan on the commission for a term that expires July 1, 2015.

Thomes, a Key Largo attorney, succeeds James Lupino on the commission. Thomes served as both vice president and president of the Upper Keys Bar Association from 1985-89 and was an assistant state attorney from 1984-86. His term runs until July 1, 2014.

Yates, a Key West attorney, is a member of the Sunbelt Football Officials Association, Professional Mediators Association, Atlantic Coast Conference Football Officials Association, and the Navy League of the United States. Yates has served as a Supreme Court Certified Mediator since 1993. His term runs until July 1, 2014.