53rd Gold Cup Tarpon goes to Robertson, Rodriquez


Angler Julian Robertson from New York City and Capt. Joe Rodriguez scored 6,524 points, winning the 53rd annual Gold Cup Tarpon Tournament that took place June 20 to 24 off Islamorada.

Teams are awarded weight points for fish measuring over 70 pounds that are brought under control. Release points are awarded for tarpon that are brought under control that are a minimum of 4 feet long, regardless of weight. Tarpon are catch and release only and weight is determined by a formula based on length and girth. The Robertson-Rodriguez team scored fish measuring about 101.2, 79.8, 74.3, 85.6 and 101.5 pounds.

Angler Thane Morgan from Amarillo, Texas, and Capt. Dustin Huff of Marathon took second place with 4,974 points. Their seven release fish, along with weight fish measuring about 103.2, 111.0 and 73.2 pounds, built on their success in the Gold Cup They won the grand championship in 2014 and Morgan won the grand championship in 2010, as well.

Finishing third were Baker Bishop of Charleston, S.C., and Capt. Craig Brewer of Islamorada. Bishop and Brewer scored 2,669 points. Bishop is a two-time Golden Fly Tarpon Tournament champion and Brewer was the guide to the grand champion in the 2010 Gold Cup.

Mark Richens and Capt. Jared Raskob, both from Islamorada, followed up their 2015 Gold Cup championship by taking the Largest Tarpon Award in the 2016 event. The fish measured about 126.6 pounds.

The 54th Gold Cup Tarpon Tournament will take place June 19 to 23, 2017. For information, including current results and sponsors, go to